Tinder: Is It Really Love At First Swipe?

how-i-met-your-mother-series-finale-old-ted-570x294

“Kids I’m going to tell you an incredible story. The story of how I met your mother. You see kids back in 2014 everyone had a smart phone and an app called Tinder. When I scrolled through the people in my area there she was, the most beautiful woman I just couldn’t swipe by.”

Boy meets girl on tinder. The End? Let’s face it, it’s not exactly a traditional love story is it? It’s probably not going to sell romance novels or be the plot of the next chick-flick. But the match-making app Tinder is getting increasingly popular.

Those of you who know me will know I’m a firm believer in love and it’s possibilities. For those of you that don’t, well I’m not lying when I say I’m a hopeless romantic who can quote whole sections of the soppy parts of ‘Notting Hill’. I believe that the heartbreaks are necessary and the losers are supposed to treat you like crap so that when the good ones come along it makes sense that it never worked out with anyone before.

But what does love have to with Tinder I hear you ask….

That is where I get confused about the app .Being a romantic I think everyone needs some love in their lives no matter where it comes from, so whether you end up falling for the guy in the bar, or the girl on Tinder if it works out then you know I’m behind you. But that’s the catch. It seems from my experience that for the most part, guys using the app often just want that one thing. And us girls? Yes, we like our fun too but it seems that we’re looking for something more.

Would Allie and Noah have matched if Tinder was involved in 'The Notebook?'

Would Allie and Noah have matched if Tinder was involved in ‘The Notebook?’

These differences in expectations work both ways but this is where my hesitations start. I know I sound like a mammy but my main issue with an app like Tinder is catfishing. We’ve all seen the MTV show but how do you trust that the person you’re matched with is who they really are? The same goes for real life I guess but perhaps there’s a little more comfort in physically meeting the person.

It’s strange that I’m writing this as I can honestly hold my hand up and say that my name is Orla Prout and I’m a Tinder virgin. My only Tinder experience was in college last year, when procrastination set in and we “borrowed” our friend Ben’s phone and matched him with as many girls as possible. It was fun and we all laughed but I don’t have a profile and have never matched with anyone on the app. Since the origin of Tinder in 2012 I’ve been happily off the market but if I was single tomorrow would my slowness to embrace this technology mean a life time of watching chick flicks, surrounded only by feline friends?…Well, I hope not.

I’m not going to lie I have a fantastic boyfriend but there is a small part of me that’s vain enough to wonder if other people would find my picture attractive and if a successful algorithm would match me with someone I’d pick myself. That’s the main question does a computer know me better than myself? I don’t necessarily think so but the popularity of Tinder speaks for itself. I have several friends that regularly use the app and love it. They are fluent in the language of Tinder while I simply nod and smile as they talk about matches and swipes. But I will finish up this article with some advice about relationships that rings true for the technologically minded and the old fashioned ones like me. (Gentlemen I’m sorry but for the most part this is aimed at the ladies)

  • Don’t spend your time chasing a man, if a man is interested enough he will always find the time to talk to you and spend time with you.

  • Good relationships require lots of trust and support – communication is key

  • Don’t let your expectations be lowered because of past experiences.

  • The imperfections you see are what attracts other people

  • Don’t be taken for granted or mistreated in any way.

Orla Prout

Leave a Reply

